Module d’enseignement en ligne

Chapitre 1 Grain 2
L'adaptation des cours en fonction de l'âge, du parcours et des spécificités d'apprentissage des participants
60 minutes
Comprendre comment concevoir une Escape room pédagogique à partir de zéro en commençant par une analyse des besoins des participants
À la fin de ce grain, les participants devraient être en mesure de :
  • Faire une analyse des apprenants pour assurer une participation active au sein des équipes
  • Déterminer les styles d'apprentissage des participants

Le module portera sur le processus de conception d’une Escape Room pédagogique à partir de zéro.

Le concept d’Escape Room implique un objectif commun, ainsi qu’un besoin de collaboration pour résoudre les problèmes et atteindre cet objectif à temps. Dans le domaine de l’éducation, les constructivistes sociaux préconisent que les apprenants développent leurs connaissances en interaction les uns avec les autres. En se fondant sur le constructivisme social, les enseignants utilisent les Escape Rooms pour stimuler l’apprentissage en équipe ou en collaboration (Fotaris & Mastoras, 2019 ; Hermanns et al., 2017). Un critère de conception des Escape Rooms pédagogiques consiste à garantir une participation active des membres de l’équipe.

Comment peut-on décrire une Escape Room pédagogique en termes de conception ? Quels sont les éléments auxquels nous devrions penser, que nous devrions développer et que nous devrions associer les uns aux autres afin de générer une expérience d’apprentissage par le jeu efficace et attrayante ? (Clarke, Peel, Arnab, Morini, Keegan & Wood, 2017).

Participants

La première étape du cadre proposé requiert des enseignants qu’ils analysent leurs élèves et, en pratique, qu’ils élaborent une mini-analyse des besoins de ceux à qui l’expérience de jeu devrait s’adresser. Effectuer une analyse du groupe cible avant de développer d’autres contenus est considéré comme une pratique conventionnelle dans la plupart des disciplines et des systèmes éducatifs. En suivant le processus par étapes suggéré par la méthodologie transdisciplinaire d’Arnab & Clarke, l’étape Participants est divisée en cinq domaines que les éducateurs doivent prendre en considération au début de la conception de leur Escape Room pédagogique.

Après cette étape, les enseignants doivent fournir une compréhension de base des types d’utilisateurs qui interagiront avec le jeu proposé et comment procéder aux prochaines étapes de développement.

Type d’utilisateur

Une étape du processus consiste à identifier l’âge, les capacités, le style d’apprentissage et l’intérêt général des participants cibles pour les thèmes potentiels de l’Escape Room. Les participants doivent être pleinement engagés et attentifs afin de tirer profit de l’expérience. Il est donc essentiel de tenir compte de leurs intérêts et de reconnaître les limites éventuelles du processus de conception. Il est important de distinguer les différents types de styles d’apprentissage dans ce groupe et d’essayer d’incorporer des puzzles qui reflètent ces styles d’apprentissage.

Analyse des apprenants

En tant qu’enseignant, vous devez toujours effectuer une analyse de l’apprenant avant de commencer votre cours/enseignement et avant de concevoir votre Escape Room. Avant de commencer à planifier un environnement d’apprentissage efficace, vous devez en savoir suffisamment sur vos apprenants pour réfléchir soigneusement à la meilleure façon de présenter le contenu et de les faire participer. La compréhension des différentes caractéristiques de vos apprenants vous permet de planifier l’Escape Room qui répond le mieux à leurs besoins.

L’analyse des apprenants consiste à comprendre les apprenants cibles et à comprendre à l’avance ce qu’ils peuvent et veulent faire. L’analyse peut inclure la collecte de preuves provenant de diverses sources en menant des entretiens, des observations, en examinant le matériel existant et en réalisant des enquêtes.

L’analyse des apprenants est le processus qui consiste à identifier votre public ; ses caractéristiques démographiques, ses connaissances préalables, ses besoins physiologiques et affectifs et ses besoins sociaux. Chacun de ces domaines déterminera vos décisions en matière de conception et influencera les méthodes et stratégies pédagogiques que vous choisirez de mettre en œuvre.

Ceci est une représentation visuelle des types de caractéristiques de l’apprenant qu’un concepteur pédagogique doit prendre en considération lorsqu’il effectue une analyse de l’apprenant, Darcy Janzen,2016-03-25

Considérations démographiques

En commençant par obtenir des informations démographiques générales sur vos apprenants, vous pourrez assez rapidement élaborer votre stratégie de conception. La connaissance du nombre d’étudiants, de leur âge, de leur localisation géographique, de leurs caractéristiques culturelles et de leur statut socio-économique déterminera les technologies d’apprentissage que vous pourrez mettre en œuvre, les ressources que vous fournirez, les choix pédagogiques et les méthodes de transmission et de communication. Le tableau ci-dessous présente les considérations démographiques que les éducateurs doivent chercher à situer dans le processus d’analyse de l’apprentissage.

Il s’agit d’une représentation visuelle des types de caractéristiques de l’apprenant qu’un concepteur pédagogique doit prendre en considération en ce qui concerne les données démographiques de l’apprenant lorsqu’il effectue une analyse de l’apprenant, Darcy Janzen, 1 April 2016

Catégorie Implications
Taille et Nature Les activités des cours (forums de discussion, travail de groupe, etc.) sont structurées de manière à tenir compte de la taille de la classe. La structure de communication permet un retour d’information adéquat et un soutien aux étudiants.
Âge & Genre La langue et les exemples/scénarios doivent être adaptés aux groupes d’âge. Les objectifs et les tâches pédagogiques doivent être adaptés à l’âge.
Culture Le contenu doit être présenté de manière à fournir aux intervenants non natifs des outils de visualisation (conférences enregistrées qui peuvent être arrêtées, regardées et regardées à nouveau). Les points de vue culturels sur les rôles étudiants/étudiants et étudiants/enseignants peuvent influencer les interactions et la communication.
Professionnel et socio-économique Fournir des ressources pour le contrôle de l’équipement et les laboratoires.
Geographique La localisation des étudiants peut affecter la connectivité, la capacité à participer à des réunions en ligne et à des travaux de groupe.

Connaissances cognitives et préalables

Il est extrêmement utile de comprendre le niveau de connaissances et de compétences des apprenants lorsqu’ils entrent dans l’environnement d’apprentissage. Les données sur les connaissances cognitives et les connaissances préalables que vous recueillez sur vos apprenants au cours du processus d’analyse de l’apprenant vous aideront à prendre des décisions efficaces sur le point où commencer l’enseignement (principes fondamentaux de base ou concepts plus avancés), quels types d’activités seraient significatifs et intéressants, ainsi que le niveau de soutien (technologie, recherche, etc.) à inclure. Au fur et à mesure que vous acquerrez de l’expérience dans la conduite d’une analyse de l’apprenant, vous découvrirez un large éventail de caractéristiques à prendre en compte, qui influenceront vos choix de conception de nombreuses façons.

Ceci est une représentation visuelle des types de caractéristiques de l’apprenant qu’un concepteur pédagogique doit prendre en considération en ce qui concerne les connaissances cognitives et préalables lorsqu’il effectue une analyse de l’apprenant, Darcy Janzen, 4 April 2016

Catégorie Implications
Niveau d’éducation Le contenu des cours s’aligne sur les niveaux de maîtrise des apprenants. Les apprenants peuvent partager des compétences et des expériences similaires, ce qui peut permettre des activités de résolution de problèmes dans le monde réel et des projets de groupe en collaboration.
Prérequis Inclure des ressources/instructions supplémentaires si les apprenants ne remplissent pas les conditions requises. Aligner l’enseignement sur les compétences de base des apprenants et fournir des ressources pour le tutorat ou la formation/le soutien en ligne.
Styles d’apprentissages Concevoir l’enseignement de manière à ce que les élèves restent activement engagés (apprentissage actif, activités d’apprentissage basées sur des problèmes/enquêtes, etc.) Fournir des modalités multiples de présentation du contenu (visuel, textuel, auditif). Les activités/soutien doivent répondre aux besoins des apprenants indépendants/dépendants.
Compétences technologiques Fournir un soutien technologique ou un développement des compétences pour amener l’étudiant au niveau de compétence requis. Se connecter à des systèmes d’aide locaux ou en ligne. Intégrer des tutoriels pour les outils requis.
Difficultés d’apprentissage Collaborer avec les services professionnels de la santé compétents afin de s’assurer que les besoins des apprenants sont identifiés et satisfaits. Fournir un contenu accessible, adapter ou proposer des activités alternatives pour répondre aux besoins des utilisateurs.

Considérations physiologiques

Il est essentiel de comprendre les défis physiques auxquels vos apprenants sont confrontés pour créer un environnement d’apprentissage qui réponde à leurs besoins. Il arrive souvent que les enseignants négligent ou manquent les défis cachés auxquels les apprenants sont confrontés. La prise en compte des besoins physiologiques des élèves aura également une incidence sur les choix relatifs aux types d’activités menées, à la présentation du contenu, ainsi qu’à l’accès aux services aux étudiants.

Ceci est une représentation visuelle des types de caractéristiques de l’apprenant qu’un concepteur pédagogique doit prendre en considération en ce qui concerne les caractéristiques physiologiques lorsqu’il effectue une analyse de l’apprenant, Darcy Janzen, 4 April 2016

Catégorie Implications
Émotionelle Lorsqu’ils sont confrontés à des situations problématiques, les apprenants réagissent habituellement de la manière qu’ils ont façonnée à partir de leur expérience ou de leurs tendances naturelles. Concevoir des présentations et des activités en échafaudage pour favoriser un traitement approfondi des concepts.
Santé générale Si les besoins fondamentaux ne sont pas satisfaits, cela peut avoir des répercussions négatives sur la motivation et l’engagement des étudiants. Prévoir une certaine flexibilité dans les activités de cours si possible ; créer un environnement de soutien et un environnement esthétiquement accueillant et apaisant. Créer une communauté d’apprentissage de soutien.
Environnement Des adaptations devront être mises en œuvre en fonction des besoins des apprenants et du type de sensibilité. La quantité de son, de vidéo et de temps d’écran nécessaire peut devoir être ajustée.
Handicaps physiques Collaborer avec les services pour personnes handicapées afin de s’assurer que les besoins des apprenants sont identifiés et satisfaits. Fournir un contenu accessible ; ajouter un soutien supplémentaire aux étudiants si nécessaire. Adapter ou fournir des activités alternatives pour répondre aux besoins des utilisateurs.

Considérations affectives/sociales

Connaître les caractéristiques affectives / sociales des apprenants peut soutenir le travail de l’enseignant. Il peut s’agir de l’image que l’élève a de lui-même, des expériences passées qui façonnent sa perception de la leçon, et d’autres considérations énumérées ci-dessous. Ces facteurs ont une incidence sur les éléments de motivation que vous choisissez d’inclure et sur l’accès aux aides aux étudiants.

Il s’agit d’une représentation visuelle des types de caractéristiques de l’apprenant qu’un concepteur pédagogique doit prendre en considération en ce qui concerne les caractéristiques affectives et sociales lorsqu’il effectue une analyse de l’apprenant, Darcy Janzen, 4 April 2016

Catégorie Implications
Attitude à l’égard du cours Les instructions doivent être claires et encourageantes, renforcer les perceptions positives et réduire les perceptions négatives et les préjugés.
Niveau de motivation Structurer des activités qui intéresseront les apprenants. Rendre le contenu pertinent et démontrer la valeur de la participation et de l’engagement. Le soutien (feedback, coups de pouce, etc.) doit être mis en scène tout au long du cours pour maintenir la présence sociale.
Attitude envers soi-même Fournir des ressources de soutien pour la gestion du temps et du stress afin de réduire l’anxiété. Échafauder des activités afin que les apprenants ne soient pas dépassés. Les apprenants doivent être confiants et leur motivation doit être maintenue. Déterminer le niveau de contrôle de l’apprenant sur les activités et le contenu.
Relations Concevoir l’enseignement de manière à ce que les élèves restent activement engagés (apprentissage actif, activités d’apprentissage basées sur des problèmes/enquêtes, etc.) Fournir des modalités multiples de présentation du contenu (visuel, textuel, auditif) Les activités/support doivent répondre aux besoins des apprenants indépendants/dépendants.
Intérêts Concevoir des interactions et des activités qui correspondent aux intérêts des apprenants. L’intérêt doit être maintenu tout au long du cours en présentant de nouveaux défis et de nouvelles possibilités aux apprenants pour qu’ils s’engagent dans de nouvelles voies.

Maintenant que vous avez compris ces concepts, vous pouvez les mettre en pratique et être mieux préparé pour créer votre Escape Room pédagogique.

Matériels et ressources
Clarke, S., Peel, D., Arnab, S., Morini, L., keegan, H., & Wood, O. (2017). EscapED: A Framework for Creating Educational Escape Rooms and Interactive Games to For Higher/Further Education. International Journal of Serious Games , 4(3), 73-86. https://doi.org/10.17083/ijsg.v4i3.180 A means to foster STEM interest: A mystery room at Banksia Gardens Community Services. https://web.wpi.edu/Pubs/E-project/Available/E-project-050218-064950/unrestricted/FirestormD18_Final_Booklet.pdf Escape Room Games: Can you transform an unpleasant situation into a pleasant one? Markus Wiemker, Errol Elumir, Adam Clare November, 2015. https://thecodex.ca/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/00511Wiemker-et-al-Paper-Escape-Room-Games.pdf Pan, R., Lo, H., & Neustaedter, C. (2017). Collaboration, awareness, and communication in real-life escape rooms. In Proceedings of the 2017 Conference on Designing Interactive Systems Bassford, M. L., Crisp, A., O'Sullivan, A., Bacon, J., & Fowler, M. (2016). CrashEd–A live immersive, learning experience embedding STEM subjects in a realistic, interactive crime scene. Research in Learning Technology, 24(1), 30089. Instructional design/Learner analysis/what when why. https://en.wikiversity.org/wiki/Instructional_design/Learner_analysis/what_when_why Eastham, N. (2011). Learner analysis. University of Northern Colorado. Retrieved from https://www.unco.edu/cetl/sir/sizing_up/learner_analysis.html Justice, L. K. (2003). Learner/context analysis. Kent State University. Retrieved from https://www.personal.kent.edu/~lkjusti1/objectivelyspeaking/learner_context_analysis.htm Lsulami, R. A. (n.d.). Learner analysis. Blendspace by TES. Retrieved from https://www.tes.com/lessons/Wf12BNREPMrbBg/learner-analysis Lynne (2012). 5 ways learner analysis will impact instructional design. Langevin Learning Services. Retrieved from https://www.langevin.com/blog/2012/09/17/5-ways-learner-analysis-will-impact-instructional-design/ Stolovitch, H. D. & Keeps, E. J. (2008). Learner analysis. Harold D. Stolovitch & Associates Learning & Performance Solutions: Los Angeles, CA. Retrieved from https://www.hsa-lps.com/E_News/ENews_Oct08/mainFrame_Oct08.htm Eastham, N. (2011). Instructional Design Course: Learner analysis (Web resource). University of Northern California. Retrieved from https://www.unco.edu/cetl/sir/sizing_up/learner_analysis.html (Links to an external site.) Justice, L. K. (2003). Learner/Context Analysis (Web resource). Retrieved from http://www.personal.kent.edu/~lkjusti1/objectivelyspeaking/learner_context_analysis.htm (Links to an external site.)

Choisissez la bonne réponse (1) parmi les options suivantes :

Q1. Quelle est la meilleure définition d'une analyse des besoins ?

a. La meilleure façon de savoir ce que les étudiants sont censés obtenir à la fin d'un cours.
b. Une analyse des besoins est un ensemble de questions permettant de connaître les capacités potentielles.
c. Un choix pour commencer à concevoir un cours en fonction des besoins.
d. La différence entre ce qu'un apprenant peut faire et ce qu'il devrait être capable de faire.

Q2. Quels sont les principaux utilisateurs d'une analyse des besoins ?

a. Les enseignants, les parents, les étudiants
b. Les fonctionnaires du ministère de l'éducation et les parents
c. Personnel chargé des tests, enseignants et apprenants

Q3. L'analyse des besoins par le biais d'entretiens présente un inconvénient :

a. L'information peut être superficielle
b. L'administration de l'information prend du temps
c. Parfois, les gens ne se sentent pas à l'aise dans le cadre d'un entretien

Réponses

Q1: d
Q2: c
Q3: b

E-Learning Module

Unit 1 Grain 2
Tailoring the er according to the age, background and learning specificities of participants
60 minutes

Understand how to design an educational escape room from scratch starting with an analysis of participants’ needs

By the end of this grain, participants should be able to:

  • Make learner analysis to ensure active participation within teams
  • Determine the learner styles of participants

The module will work through the process of designing an educational escape room from scratch.

The escape room concept involves a common goal, together with a need for collaboration to solve problems and achieve that goal on time. In the field of education, social constructivists advocate that learners construct knowledge in interaction with each other. Based on social constructivism, teachers utilize escape rooms to stimulate team-based or collaborative learning (Fotaris & Mastoras, 2019; Hermanns et al., 2017). A resulting design criterion for educational escape rooms is to ensure active participation amongst team members.

How can we describe an educational escape room in terms of design? What are the elements that we should think of, develop and match with one another in order to generate an effective and engaging game-based learning experience? (Clarke, Peel, Arnab, Morini, Keegan & Wood, 2017).

Participants

The first step of the proposed framework requires teachers to analyse their students and, in practice, construct a mini-needs analysis of who the game experience should be aimed at. Conducting an analysis of the target group before developing other content is considered a conventional practice in most disciplines and education systems. Following the stage process suggested from the Trans Disciplinary Methodology by Arnab & Clarke, the Participants step is broken down into five areas for educators to consider at the start of designing their educational escape room.

Following this step, teachers should provide a base understanding of the user types who will interact with the proposed game and how to proceed with the next development steps.

User Type

One step in the process is to identify the target participants’ age, ability, learning style, and overall interest in potential themes for the escape room. Participants need to be fully engaged and attentive in order to benefit from the experience, so catering to their interests and recognizing any limitations is essential to the design process. It is important to distinguish amongst the types of learning styles in this group and to attempt to incorporate puzzles that reflect these learning styles.

Learner Analysis

As a teacher, you should always conduct a learner analysis before starting your course/teaching and prior to designing your Escape Room. Before you can begin to plan an effective learning environment, you must know enough about your learners to make careful considerations about how to best introduce the content and engage them. Understanding various characteristics of your learners enables you to plan the escape room that best addresses their range of needs.

Learner analysis is understanding the target learners and understanding in advance what they can and will do. Analysis may include gathering evidence from a variety of sources by conducting interviews, observations, reviewing existing materials and surveys.

Learner analysis is the process of identifying who your audience is; their demographics, prior knowledge, physiological and affective and social needs. Each of these areas will shape your design decisions and influence the instructional methods and strategies that you choose to implement.

This is a visual representation of the types of learner characteristics that an instructional designer should take into considerations when conducting a learner analysis, Darcy Janzen,2016-03-25

Demographic considerations

Starting out by learning general demographic information about your learners can shape your design strategy rather quickly. Knowing the number of students, their age, the geographic locations of the students, cultural characteristics and their socioeconomic status will drive what learning technologies you can implement, resources you provide, pedagogical choices and methods of delivery and communication. The chart below provides demographic considerations that instructional educators should seek to locate in the learning analysis process.

This is a visual representation of the types of learner characteristics that an instructional designer should take into considerations with regard to learner demographics when conducting a learner analysis, Darcy Janzen, 1 April 2016

Category Implications
Size & Nature Lesson activities (discussion boards, group work etc.) are structured to accommodate the size of the class. Communication structure allows for adequate feedback and student support.
Age & Gender Language and examples/scenarios should be relevant to age groups. Instructional objectives and tasks should be age appropriate.
Cultural Content should be presented in a manner that provides non-native speakers tools for viewing (recorded lectures that can be stopped, watched and re-watched). Cultural views on student/student and student/teachers roles can influence interactions and communication.
Occupational & Socioeconomic Provide resources for equipment checkout and labs.
Geographic Location of students can affect connectivity, ability to participate in online meetings and group work.

Cognitive and Prior Knowledge

It is extremely helpful to understand how much knowledge and skill the learners have when they enter the learning environment. The cognitive and prior knowledge data that you collect about your learners during the learner analysis process will help you make effective decisions on where to begin the instruction (entry level fundamentals or more advanced concepts), what types of activities would be meaningful and of interest, as well as how much support (technology, research, etc.) should be included. As you get more experienced in conducting a learner analysis, you will discover a wide range of characteristics to consider, that will influence your design choices in many ways.

This is a visual representation of the types of learner characteristics that an instructional designer should take into considerations with regard to Cognitive and Prior Knowledge when conducting a learner analysis, Darcy Janzen, 4 April 2016

Category Implications
Education Level Course content aligns with learner levels of mastery. Learners may share similar skills and experience, which can allow for real-world problem solving activities and collaborative group projects.
Prerequisite skills Include supplemental resources/instruction if learners fall short of meeting prerequisite skills. Align instruction with learners’ entry-level skill sets and provide resources for tutoring or online training/support.
Learning styles Design instruction to keep students actively engaged (active learning, Problem/Inquiry based learning activities, etc.) Provide multiple modalities of content presentation (visual, textual, auditory). Activities/support should address the needs of independent/dependent learners.
Technology skills Provide technology support or skill development to get student to the required level of proficiency. Connect to local or online help support systems. Build in tutorials for required tools.
Learning disorders Collaborate with Disability Services to ensure learner needs are identified and met. Provide accessible content, adapt or provide alternative activities to accommodate user needs.

Physiological considerations

Understanding physical challenges that your learners face is critical to building a learning environment that supports their needs. Commonly, teachers may overlook/miss out on the hidden challenges that learners experience. Considering students’ physiological needs will also affect choices about the types of activities conducted, presentation of content, as well as access to student services.

This is a visual representation of the types of learner characteristics that an instructional designer should take into considerations with regard to Physiological characteristics when conducting a learner analysis, Darcy Janzen, 4 April 2016

Category Implications
Emotional When confronted with problematic situations, learners will habitually respond in ways that they have shaped from experience or natural tendencies. Design scaffolded presentations and activities to promote deep processing of concepts.
General Health If basic needs are not being met, it may have negative impacts on student motivation and engagement. Provide flexibility in course activities if possible; create a supportive and aesthetically welcoming and calming environment. Build a learning community of support.
Environmental Accommodations will need to be implemented based on learner needs and type of sensitivity. The amount of sound, video, screen time required may need to be adjusted.
Physical Disabilities Collaborate with Disability Services to ensure learner needs are identified and met. Provide accessible content; add additional support to students if needed. Adapt or provide alternative activities to accommodate user needs.

Affective/Social Considerations

Knowing the affective / social characteristics of the learners can support the teacher’s work. These can include a student’s self-image, past experiences that shape the student’s perception of the lesson, and other considerations listed below. These affect the motivational elements you choose to include and access to student supports.

This is a visual representation of the types of learner characteristics that an instructional designer should take into considerations with regard to Affective and Social characteristics when conducting a learner analysis, Darcy Janzen, 4 April 2016

Category Implications
Attitude toward course Instructions should be clear and supportive, reinforce positive and lessen negative perceptions and biases.
Motivation Level Structure activities that will interest learners. Make content relevant and demonstrate value of participation and engagement. Support (feedback, nudges, etc) should be staged throughout the course to maintain social presence.
Attitude toward self Provide time/stress management support resources to reduce anxiety. Scaffold activities so that learners do not get overwhelmed. Confident learners need to be engaged and motivation maintained. Determine level of learner control over activities and content.
Relationships Design instruction to keep students actively engaged (active learning, Problem/Inquiry based learning activities, etc.) Provide multiple modalities of content presentation (visual, textual, auditory) Activities/support should address needs of independent/dependent learners.
Interest Design interactions and activities that align with learners’’ interests. Interest should be maintained throughout the course by presenting new challenges and opportunities for learners to engage in new ways.

Now that you understand these concepts, you can put them into practice and be better prepared to create your Escape Room.

Materials and Resources

Clarke, S., Peel, D., Arnab, S., Morini, L., keegan, H., & Wood, O. (2017). EscapED: A Framework for Creating Educational Escape Rooms and Interactive Games to For Higher/Further Education. International Journal of Serious Games , 4(3), 73-86. https://doi.org/10.17083/ijsg.v4i3.180

A means to foster STEM interest: A mystery room at Banksia Gardens Community Services. https://web.wpi.edu/Pubs/E-project/Available/E-project-050218-064950/unrestricted/FirestormD18_Final_Booklet.pdf

Escape Room Games: Can you transform an unpleasant situation into a pleasant one? Markus Wiemker, Errol Elumir, Adam Clare November, 2015. https://thecodex.ca/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/00511Wiemker-et-al-Paper-Escape-Room-Games.pdf

Pan, R., Lo, H., & Neustaedter, C. (2017). Collaboration, awareness, and communication in real-life escape rooms. In Proceedings of the 2017 Conference on Designing Interactive Systems

Bassford, M. L., Crisp, A., O’Sullivan, A., Bacon, J., & Fowler, M. (2016). CrashEd–A live immersive, learning experience embedding STEM subjects in a realistic, interactive crime scene. Research in Learning Technology, 24(1), 30089.

Instructional design/Learner analysis/what when why. https://en.wikiversity.org/wiki/Instructional_design/Learner_analysis/what_when_why

Eastham, N. (2011). Learner analysis. University of Northern Colorado. Retrieved from https://www.unco.edu/cetl/sir/sizing_up/learner_analysis.html

Justice, L. K. (2003). Learner/context analysis. Kent State University. Retrieved from https://www.personal.kent.edu/~lkjusti1/objectivelyspeaking/learner_context_analysis.htm

Lsulami, R. A. (n.d.). Learner analysis. Blendspace by TES. Retrieved from https://www.tes.com/lessons/Wf12BNREPMrbBg/learner-analysis

Lynne (2012). 5 ways learner analysis will impact instructional design. Langevin Learning Services. Retrieved from https://www.langevin.com/blog/2012/09/17/5-ways-learner-analysis-will-impact-instructional-design/

Stolovitch, H. D. & Keeps, E. J. (2008). Learner analysis. Harold D. Stolovitch & Associates Learning & Performance Solutions: Los Angeles, CA. Retrieved from https://www.hsa-lps.com/E_News/ENews_Oct08/mainFrame_Oct08.htm

Eastham, N. (2011). Instructional Design Course: Learner analysis (Web resource). University of Northern California. Retrieved from https://www.unco.edu/cetl/sir/sizing_up/learner_analysis.html (Links to an external site.)

Justice, L. K. (2003). Learner/Context Analysis (Web resource). Retrieved from http://www.personal.kent.edu/~lkjusti1/objectivelyspeaking/learner_context_analysis.htm (Links to an external site.)

Q1. What is the best definition of a needs analysis?

a. The best way to find out what students pretend to obtain at the end of a course.
b. A needs analysis is a set of questions to get to know the potential abilities.
c. A choice to start designing a course based on needs.
d. The difference between what a learner can do and what he or she should be able to do.

Q2. Who are the main users of a need analysis?

a. Teachers, parents, students
b. Officers in the ministry of education and parents
c. Testing personnel, teachers and learners

Q3. A disadvantage of a need analysis through interviews is:

a. Information can be superficial
b. It takes time to administer the information
c. Sometimes people do not feel comfortable in interview settings

Answers:

Q1: d
Q2: c
Q3: b